The 18th March Project – post 25

I took a break from writing for a couple of months because work got really intense and hectic, and I didn’t want to beat myself up about yet another thing I couldn’t achieve.

But now I’m back(ish), ready to start putting my heart back in my words and laying them bare on a sleeve… (This mixed metaphor is all awry.)

Awry is a funny word. When we were kids, my sister and I read it as aw-ree.

Tsk was tisk.

Epitome was epi-tohm.

There’s a right way to do some things, and some things you can muddle through because the end justifies the means.

But the things that have a right way- you need to be open to learning that way, and you can’t go on saying aw-ree, tisk, and epi-tohm.

And if you insist that your way is right, you end up looking like an uneducated fool.

It’s the same thing when you’re dealing with other people. If you insist that your history or your perspective or your aesthetic sense is “right”, without a care for other histories and other perspectives and other aesthetics, you risk alienating amazing people while looking like an uneducated fool.

Will everybody just take a breath and listen to other people instead of trying to justify themselves? Or worse, gaslighting?

Then we can figure out the right pronunciations, together.

Leave a comment